Ads That Stick

Hey there 👋 - Abhi here!

Happy Thursday to the 22,520 marketers reading today :)

Last weekend I watched the Super Bowl for the first time ever. No, I didn't understand much. Yes, Mahomes is a legend. And yes, the marketing was legendary too.

That Tubi ad got the entire bar screaming. And that's what we're here to talk about. Memorable ads and 3 simple, research-backed tactics to help you create one.

And I'd like to thank our exclusive sponsor for this week's newsletter. Creatopy is an ad design platform that makes producing creatives a cakewalk. Some might call it the Canva for Ads. And based on my experience using it, I'd say that's accurate :)

Estimated Reading Time = 3 minutes 45 seconds

Let's get right into it 🤝

3 Counter-intuitive Tactics That'll Make Your Ads Stand Out

1/ Minimal Movement

Based on all the time I spend on TikTok, YouTube, and IG Reels (for research purposes of course), I see too many ads trying to overdo it with their animations.

But I find ads that do the opposite to be just as compelling, if not more. You never want to overwhelm your audience. Keep it simple. Enough movement to keep them engaged. Nothing more, nothing less. This ad creative from Fraser Cottrell is the perfect example:

It's no coincidence that it led to a:

  • CTR of over 2.5%

  • ROAS that was well above average

The minimalistic animation they used is the perfect way to get across multiple use cases in a simple, interactive way. But your objective might be different. I get it.

So whether it's a listicle or a simple statement, let Creatopy help you make an impact. In fact, here are a couple of examples of the way I'd use subtle animations in an ad for my newsletter.

2/ Minimal Clutter

Your product or service is incredibly valuable. You have a lot to offer. I agree. But does that mean you should include every one of your value props in that one ad?

Hell no. In fact, I'd argue the opposite. Leverage that white space because it:

  • creates a curiosity gap

  • acts as a directional cue

  • and places the emphasis on your CTA

And that's exactly where you want your viewers to look. I think this is a great example from Native. It creates a curiosity gap with the copy & keeps the focus on the CTA:

I'd actually take it one step further, and add a directional cue to the CTA button. That could include a person looking towards the button, a finger pointing toward it, or - like in my case - a simple arrow.

Here's what we came up with in Creatopy:

3/ Consistent Brand Assets

The more you get into marketing, the more ad links you click. It's a fact. And the one thing I've learned from all this clicking - people underestimate the power of consistency.

Everyone wants to experiment with their ads. Whether it's their color, font, or copy. But your ad should align perfectly with what's on your website. The benefits are two-fold:

  • your branding aligns with your viewers' expectations

  • it leverages the mere exposure effect

Humans are more comfortable with what's familiar. And we find it easier to interpret things the second time around. It's called perceptual fluency.

So whether it's the color of your logo or the copy that describes your product and its benefits, the impact will only get larger if you remain consistent.

With that in mind, I set up my brand assets in under a couple of clicks:

Now every time I create ads, I don't need to worry about that inconsistency we hate to see. So if you have any strong opinions about my font or color, let me know now. Or forever hold your peace...

Bonus: That's just 3 tactics to keep in mind as we design our next campaign. But it barely scratches the surface of what's known. People are running experiments every day and there's a lot more to be discovered. Look at the power of animations, for instance.

I think it goes way beyond those minimalistic animations we spoke about. What if specific kinds of animations work better? How do you decide what's best for your brand?

The questions are endless. Unfortunately, I don't have the answer. But Creatopy might.

I've already signed up for their free webinar! So I hope to see you on February 22nd and we can learn all about...

We'll dive into:

  • the power of animations in advertising,

  • how to animate ad designs without limits,

  • how to use them to attract & engage your audience

That's all from me this Thursday - hope you enjoyed :))

A Review From A Fellow Marketing Psychologist...

So what did you think of today's piece?

So what did you think of today's newsletter?

I appreciate all your feedback and read every comment.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

I look forward to reading your feedback :)

See you next Thursday,

Abhishek "Minimistically Animated" Shah

My Cafe of the Week: N/A

Sorry boys and girls, I've been slacking.

Will be back next week with a sizzling recommendation, I promise.